Seton Hall University
Arts Council


Poetry-in-the-Round invites the world's most compelling and celebrated writers to Seton Hall University each year to read and discuss their works with students and community members. Among the many poets, novelists and critics who have come to Seton Hall are Azar Nafisi, Billy Collins, Thomas Lynch, Amy Tan, George Plimpton, Harold Bloom, Adrienne Rich, Jonathan Frazen, Frank McCourt, John Updike, Arthur Miller, Ted Hughes, Jorie Graham, Nadine Gordimer, Derek Walcott and John Ashbery. 

For more information about the series, call Nathan Oates, Director at (973) 761-9388 or e-mail

The 2016-2017 Season Upcoming Events

Support the PiTR Series

Spectacular performances by first class artists is made affordable for everyone through the continued support of Seton Hall University.  You can support Poetry-in-the-Round with your tax-deductible gift.  For information please call (973) 378-2677 or you may mail your tax deductible contribution to:

Seton Hall Arts Council
College of Arts and Sciences
Room 118 Fahy Hall
400 South Orange Avenue
South Orange, New Jersey 07079

Poetry-in-the-Round is part of the Seton Hall Arts Council. For more information about upcoming events, call (973) 313-6338.


Nathan Oates, Ph.D.
Fahy Hall
Phone: (973) 761-9388

Ticket Information

  • Buying tickets for events at SOPAC
  • Reserve tickets for on-campus events by calling (973) 761-9098

Arts Council Leadership

Michael Zavada, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Ruth Sharkey, Honorary Chair
Dena Levine, Arts Council Chair
Lorrain A. Hughes ('72, '81)

Program Directors

Jeanne Brasile, Walsh Gallery
Dena Levine, Classical Concert Series
Nathan Oates, Poetry-in-the-Round
Denisse Oller, Joseph A. Unanue
Peter Reader and Deirdre Yates, Seton Hall Theatre
Gloria Thurmond, Jazz 'n the Hall

Seton Hall University · 400 South Orange Ave · South Orange, NJ 07079 · (973) 761-9000